zig
0

Notifications

  • You're all caught up!

Gluten-Free Mediterranean Diet

by
author image Sandy Keefe
Sandy Keefe, M.S.N., R.N., has been a freelance writer for over five years. Her articles have appeared in numerous health-related magazines, including "Advance for Nurses" and "Advance for Long-Term Care Management." She has written short stories in anthologies such as "A Cup of Comfort for Parents of Children with Special Needs."
Gluten-Free Mediterranean Diet
The Mediterranean Diet reflects traditional foods from countries around the Mediterranean Sea. Photo Credit Mediterranean Sea image by Oleg Gribanov from <a href='http://www.fotolia.com'>Fotolia.com</a>

The Mediterranean Diet incorporates food and drinks traditionally served in Egypt, Greece, Italy, Turkey, France and other countries that border the Mediterranean Sea. Gluten refers to a group of storage proteins found in wheat, barley and rye that cause an autoimmune disorder known as celiac disease, or CD. While other grains like corn and rice also contain glutens, these glutens don’t cause CD. Because whole grains are an integral part of the Mediterranean Diet, it can be challenging to create gluten-free meals.

Identification

According to the Mediterranean Foods Alliance, the Mediterranean Diet incorporates significant amounts of whole grains, fruits and vegetables. People on this diet also eat moderate amounts of cheese and yogurt, select healthy fats such as those found in olive oil and nuts, eat fish and seafood regularly and drink wine in moderation.

Gluten-Free Components

Fresh, unprocessed fruits, vegetables, dairy products meat/meat alternatives are gluten-free, according to the University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center. Other gluten-free components of the Mediterranean diet include nuts, wine without preservatives or added dye and fresh, frozen, dried or canned vegetables and fruits without thickening agents. Aged hard cheeses like cheddar, Swiss, Edam and Parmesan are gluten-free. Yogurt, olive and canola oil are also gluten-free, according to the Celiac Sprue Association.

Forbidden Foods

The emphasis on whole grains in the Mediterranean Diet can create challenges for gluten-sensitive individuals. While whole grains like wheat and barley are obvious sources of forbidden gluten, it’s also important to avoid flours made from derivatives of those grains, including bulgur, durham, farina, graham, matzo meal and semolina. Many commercially-prepared foods like breads, cakes, pies, cereals, cookies, crackers and pasta are gluten-laden, says MayoClinic.com. Condiments like salad dressing, sauces and gravy may use gluten as a thickener.

Substitutes

The Celiac Sprue Association recommends a number of grains and starches to replace those derived from wheat, rye or barley. People on the Mediterranean Diet who are gluten-sensitive can safely eat white or brown rice flour, potato, tapioca, arrowroot, corn meal, corn flour, soy flour, flax, wild rice, quinoa, millet, hominy and flours that are labeled 100 percent gluten-free. When purchasing a new product, it’s important to read the label carefully to make sure gluten was not added during the manufacturing process.

Tips

The Celiac Sprue Association publishes an extensive listing of gluten-free grains and flours that can guide people who want to stick with the Mediterranean Diet.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
THE LIVESTRONG.COM MyPlate Nutrition, Workouts & Tips
GOAL
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
GENDER
  • Female
  • Male
lbs.
ft. in.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

CURRENTLY TRENDING

Demand Media

Our Privacy Policy has been updated. Please take a moment and read it here.