zig
0

Notifications

  • You're all caught up!

Do Vegetables Contain Gluten?

by
author image Peter Mitchell
Based near London, U.K., Peter Mitchell has been a journalist and copywriter for over eight years. Credits include stories for "The Guardian" and the BBC. Mitchell is an experienced player and coach for basketball and soccer teams, and has written articles on nutrition, health and fitness. He has a First Class Bachelor of Arts (Hons.) from Bristol University.
Do Vegetables Contain Gluten?
Fresh vegetables are gluten-free. Photo Credit Medioimages/Photodisc/Photodisc/Getty Images

In general, vegetables don't contain gluten. This is good news for celiacs, people with an intolerance to gluten. Celiacs can eat most fresh, canned or even frozen vegetables without experiencing side-effects. Some vegetables may contain small amounts of gluten due to the packaging environment or because of extra ingredients. If you don't know what a vegetable packet sauce or dressing contains, avoid it altogether because it may contain gluten.

Gluten

Gluten is a sticky substance that occurs naturally in grains, mainly wheat. While grains are plant-based, they generally don't count as vegetables. When a celiac eats any food with gluten, the body attacks the lining of the small intestine as though it was a dangerous foreign body. This triggers symptoms from vomiting and cramps to diarrhea and foul-smelling stools. Celiacs must monitor their diet to avoid foods containing gluten. This includes foods packaged or coated in anything that contains gluten.

Additives

Some store-bought vegetables come mixed with other ingredients or with certain additives. These extra substances may include gluten. The National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse suggests avoiding vegetables prepared in sauces. For example, stir-fry vegetables mixed with chow mein sauce may contain gluten. These sticky sauces often use gluten-based thickeners to give them extra texture. Vegetables in canned soups, breaded vegetables, or vegetables cut and mixed with a dressing run the risk of exposing you to gluten.

Food Labels

While most fresh vegetables don't contain gluten, always check the package details on canned, dried or plastic-wrapped vegetables. Some foods packaged in an environment that contains wheat may contain elements of gluten. The label should inform you of any gluten-based ingredients. As well as gluten itself, also look out for ingredients such as starch, wheat stabilizers, malt, glucose syrup and some types of gum. These often contain gluten in doses strong enough to trigger symptoms in celiacs.

Considerations

As they contain no gluten and high levels of vitamins and minerals, vegetables should make up a large percentage of a healthy celiac's diet. Remember that vegetable products, such as vegetable burgers, vegetable couscous or vegetarian sausages, may contain gluten. Pickled vegetables too may contain some gluten. In particular, vegetables pickled in malt vinegar contain gluten from the malting process. Home-fermented pickles in white vinegar don't contain gluten.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
THE LIVESTRONG.COM MyPlate Nutrition, Workouts & Tips
GOAL
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
GENDER
  • Female
  • Male
lbs.
ft. in.

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE

CURRENTLY TRENDING

Demand Media

Our Privacy Policy has been updated. Please take a moment and read it here.