zig
0

Notifications

  • You're all caught up!

Does Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Contain Gluten?

by
author image Amy Long Carrera
Amy Long Carrera is a registered dietitian in Los Angeles who has been writing since 2007 for such publications as The Insider, On the Other Side and Arthritis Today. She is a certified nutrition support clinician and her writing employs current research to provide evidence-based nutrition information. Carrera holds a master of science degree in nutrition from California State University, Northridge.
Does Old-Fashioned Oatmeal Contain Gluten?
Oatmeal with blueberries Photo Credit Sally Scott/iStock/Getty Images

Celiac disease, with bloating, diarrhea, weight loss and skin inflammation, affects one in 133 Americans, according to the National Digestive Disease Information Clearinghouse. Going gluten-free is the only treatment for this condition. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley. Eliminating these grains from your diet is an effective way to find out whether gluten is behind your symptoms. Oats may be a safe alternative.

Oats and Gluten

Oats by themselves do not contain gluten, but they may become contaminated with gluten during processing, explains the National Digestive Disease Information Clearinghouse. Look for the Certified Gluten-Free seal on your oats label, a program launched in 2013 by the Gluten-Free Certification Program and the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. Most people with celiac disease can tolerate small amounts of oats. Work with your health care provider to determine whether oats are safe for you to eat.

You Might Also Like

Related Searches

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
THE LIVESTRONG.COM MyPlate Nutrition, Workouts & Tips
GOAL
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
GENDER
  • Female
  • Male
lbs.
ft. in.

References

Demand Media