zig
0

Notifications

  • You're all caught up!

Gluten Intolerance & Green Tea

by
author image Joseph McAllister
Joseph McAllister has worked as a writer since 2003. He has more than seven years of experience in training and coaching martial arts. McAllister writes for various websites on a variety of topics including martial arts, competition and fitness. He graduated from Liberty University on a full ride National Merit Scholarship with a Bachelor of Science in print journalism.
Gluten Intolerance & Green Tea
Green tea can be a good source of many different nutrients. Photo Credit TongRo Images/TongRo Images/Getty Images

Green tea, like most beverages, is safe for someone suffering from a gluten intolerance. However, some manufacturers may expose it to gluten-containing products when adding flavorings, so always check the label before consuming it.

Green Tea

Green tea is a type of tea made from the leaves of the Camellia sinensis plant. According to Purdue University, it is different from black and oolong tea because it contains unfermented leaves that have been steamed and dried. When brewed, green tea is a good source of antioxidants called polyphenols, as well as the antioxidant family carotenes, riboflavin and pantothenic acid. The antioxidants in green tea help your cells fight the damaging effects of free radicals. Green tea also contains some caffeine.

Gluten Intolerance

According to the National Digestive Diseases Information Clearinghouse, a gluten intolerance, or celiac disease, is a disease in which your immune system reacts to the protein gluten by attacking your small intestine’s lining. This damages your villi, or growths in your small intestine, which help your body absorb nutrients. This leads to symptoms like stomach pain, gas, fatigue and diarrhea. Gluten intolerance is chronic, but its symptoms can be managed by a diet that carefully eliminates gluten.

You Might Also Like

Gluten

According to the Mayo Clinic, gluten is found in select grains, primarily wheat, barley and rye. Many grains, like corn, rice and buckwheat, do not contain any gluten. Pure green tea is not a grain, and should not contain the protein gluten. The green tea made by most major brands, like Celestial Seasonings and Lipton, are gluten-free. Bigelow, a popular tea manufacturer, does add gluten-containing products to some of their teas. However, their green teas are gluten-free.

Foods

In addition to tea, wine and spirits, ciders, and some coffees are naturally gluten-free. Other naturally gluten-free foods include meats and poultry, fruits and vegetables, most dairy products and fish. Gluten-free grains and starches include amaranth, arrowroot, cornmeal, rice, quinoa and tapioca. You do need to avoid wheat, barley, rye, bulgur and semolina. You should also only eat specially marked gluten-free products if the product is normally made with wheat. These can include beer, bread, cookies and pastas.

Related Searches

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
THE LIVESTRONG.COM MyPlate Nutrition, Workouts & Tips
GOAL
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
GENDER
  • Female
  • Male
lbs.
ft. in.

References

Demand Media