Gold Member Badge


  • You're all caught up!

A Gluten-Free Diet and Torula Yeast

A Gluten-Free Diet and Torula Yeast
A bowl of hot onion soup. Photo Credit: quadxeon/iStock/Getty Images

If you have celiac disease, a gluten-free diet prevents damage to your small intestines. It can be tricky to figure out all of the hidden sources of gluten you need to avoid, however. Gluten is found in any foods or ingredients made with rye, wheat or barley. Torula yeast isn't made from these grains, so it is safe on this diet.

Video of the Day

Torula and Gluten

Torula yeast is made during the processing of either fruits or wood products, so it doesn't contain any gluten. It is used as a food additive to give foods a savory, smoky or meaty taste without adding meat or using monosodium glutamate, or MSG, which some people try to avoid in their food due to potential adverse reactions. Torula yeast is found in processed foods such as soups, snack foods, pasta and rice mixes, salad dressings, processes meats, gravies and sauces. If you prefer not to consume torula yeast, check labels of processed foods, including gluten-free items. It may be listed by name on the ingredients label, but it can also fall under "natural flavorings," according to Center for Science in the Public Interest.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
Lose Weight. Feel Great! Change your life with MyPlate by LIVESTRONG.COM
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
  • Female
  • Male
ft. in.


Demand Media