zig
0

Notifications

  • You're all caught up!

Vegetarian Options At Burger King

by
author image Jeff Herman
Jeff Herman began his journalism career in 2000. An experienced, award-winning sportswriter, his work has appeared in "The Washington Post," "ESPN the Magazine" and the "Boston Herald," among other publications. Herman has a Bachelor of Arts in journalism from West Virginia University.
Vegetarian Options At Burger King
Finding food on the menu at a burger joint is possible for vegetarians. Photo Credit Hemera Technologies/AbleStock.com/Getty Images

Being a vegetarian can be challenging, especially when meeting friends at restaurants such as Burger King, where the logo is a big meaty Whopper. Over the years, though, Burger King has added a few meat-free items to its menu, so even if you’re a vegetarian, you can still have it your way.

Breakfast Items

The breakfast menu at Burger King offers a few choices for all types of vegetarians. For both lacto and lacto-ovo vegans, items such as blueberry biscuits -- while containing milk -- are options. The egg and cheese muffin or croissant is another option for lacto-ovo vegetarians. The same goes for the cinnamon rolls. For all types of vegetarians, french toast sticks are free of meat, egg and dairy. So, too, is the pancake platter, minus the sausage patty.

Lunch and Dinner

If your diet allows for eggs and dairy, as the lacto-ovo diet does, you have the option of the BK Veggie Burger. But for vegans and lacto-vegetarians, don’t let the name fool you; while it’s made from veggies instead of meat, it still contains eggs and milk. The garden salad with or without cheese is the item for you. While it’s portioned as a side salad, you can order two or buy a larger salad, such as the chicken salad -- minus the chicken and cheese.

You Might Also Like

Sides

Most sides don’t include meat, which leaves every side option open for most types of vegetarians. There are fries, onion rings and hash browns for breakfast. Desserts like the apple pie, which has no milk or eggs in it, are also options. The Hershey’s Sunday Pie does contain milk so isn’t an option for vegans.

Drinks, Slushies and Shakes

Vegetarian Options At Burger King
Cherry slushies are a beverage option for any type of vegetarian. Photo Credit Zedcor Wholly Owned/PhotoObjects.net/Getty Images

In addition to the standard Coke products, Burger King offers coffee, juice, milk and water. It also sells shakes that come in vanilla, strawberry, chocolate and Oreo flavors, but these do contain milk. While these are off limits for you if you’re a vegan, all vegetarians can enjoy the Coke-flavored or cherry-flavored slushies.

Related Searches

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
THE LIVESTRONG.COM MyPlate Nutrition, Workouts & Tips
GOAL
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
GENDER
  • Female
  • Male
lbs.
ft. in.

References

Demand Media