zig
0

Notifications

  • You're all caught up!

Pickles and Gluten

by
author image William McCoy
Toronto-based journalist William McCoy has been writing since 1997, specializing in topics such as sports, nutrition and health. He serves as the Studio's sports and recreation section expert. McCoy is a journalism graduate of Ryerson University.
Pickles and Gluten
A jar of pickles on a wooden table. Photo Credit Wiktory/iStock/Getty Images

Pickles can add a satisfying crunch to your garden salad or provide a burst of garlic and vinegar with a sandwich. If you're sensitive to gluten, however, you shouldn't automatically add a pickle or two to your meal without ensuring that this cucumber-based food doesn't contain gluten. Unlike obvious sources of gluten, such as pasta and bread, it's occasionally possible for pickles to surprise you by containing a gluten ingredient.

Don't Find Yourself in a Pickle

"Gluten-Free Living" magazine reports that in general, commercial pickles are free of gluten. The magazine notes that pickle manufacturers such as Heinz and Vlasic label their pickles as gluten-free. Heinz, for example, advises that its pickles and relishes are gluten-free. If the pickles you wish to eat contain malt vinegar, however, the pickles contain gluten, notes Huffpost Healthy Living. Barley is one of the ingredients in malt vinegar, and barley contains gluten.

You Might Also Like

Related Searches

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
THE LIVESTRONG.COM MyPlate Nutrition, Workouts & Tips
GOAL
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
GENDER
  • Female
  • Male
lbs.
ft. in.

References

Demand Media