zig
0

Notifications

  • You're all caught up!

List of Wheat-Free Foods

by
author image Andrea Cespedes
Andrea Cespedes is a professionally trained chef who has focused studies in nutrition. With more than 20 years of experience in the fitness industry, she coaches cycling and running and teaches Pilates and yoga. She is an American Council on Exercise-certified personal trainer, RYT-200 and has degrees from Princeton and Columbia University.
List of Wheat-Free Foods
Wheat field in Halstead, England Photo Credit Oli Scarff/Getty Images News/Getty Images

Overview

People with celiac disease and wheat allergies must avoid foods made with the grain or any of its derivatives. Wheat is an ingredient in many foods, including ones you would never expect such as certain soups, salad dressings, sauces and drinks. If you must avoid wheat, you can enjoy many foods that are naturally free of the grain.

Proteins

List of Wheat-Free Foods
Tourists enjoying lobster in Portland, Maine Photo Credit Justin Sullivan/Getty Images News/Getty Images

Meat, poultry and fish are all free of wheat. Avoid breaded versions as the crumbs most likely come from wheat-containing bread. Some processed meats such as sausage, deli meats and hot dogs contain wheat fillers, so check the labels before consuming. Try to avoid meats with unfamiliar marinades or sauces as some barbecue sauces and mustards contain wheat.

Fruits and Vegetables

List of Wheat-Free Foods
Cooking vegetables in a skillet Photo Credit Jupiterimages/Photos.com/Getty Images

Fresh produce is naturally wheat-free. Most frozen fruits and vegetables are also wheat-free, but check packaging of vegetables with added sauces as the flavorings may include wheat starch. Dried fruits and olives are also wheat-free, but be wary of trail mixes which might include traces of wheat products.

You Might Also Like

Dairy and Eggs

List of Wheat-Free Foods
Woman looking at the dairy section of a market Photo Credit Hemera Technologies/AbleStock.com/Getty Images

Eggs contain no wheat. Plain dairy products such as milk, yogurt, cottage cheese, pudding and cheese are also wheat-free. Check labels for flavored yogurts and kefirs, as wheat may be used as a thickener for the sweet topping. Avoid any yogurts with crunchy toppings such as cookie crumbs or granola. Blue cheese should be avoided as the mold may have been started on wheat bread and very sensitive individuals can have a reaction.

Grains

List of Wheat-Free Foods
Curried Quinoa Mediterranean salad Photo Credit Cindy Ord/Getty Images Entertainment/Getty Images

Choose white or brown rice, amaranth, teff, millet or quinoa as wheat-free grain options. Pastas and breads made with these grains are usually wheat-free. Corn and rice ready-to-eat cereals are usually wheat-free, but check the label for possible flour blends. Buckwheat, despite its name, is gluten-free and not a derivative of wheat.

Gluten-Free Products

Any product labeled gluten-free is also wheat-free. Along with wheat, any traces of barley and rye are also removed from gluten-free products.

Nuts and Oils

List of Wheat-Free Foods
Various raw nuts in wooden bowls Photo Credit Polka Dot Images/Polka Dot/Getty Images

All oils are wheat-free. Plain nuts are also wheat-free and make a healthy snack. Coated nuts or flavored nuts may contain wheat, so read the labels carefully before indulging.

Related Searches

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
THE LIVESTRONG.COM MyPlate Nutrition, Workouts & Tips
GOAL
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
GENDER
  • Female
  • Male
lbs.
ft. in.

References

Demand Media