zig
0

Notifications

  • You're all caught up!

Can You Eat Eggs on a Gluten-free, Casein-free Diet?

by
author image Elizabeth Otto
Elizabeth Otto has been writing professionally since 2003. She is a licensed emergency medical technician-intermediate with over 10 years of experience in the field. She has worked as a clinical assistant in family health and emergency medicine since 1995. Otto is a freelance writer for various websites and holds an Associate of Science in medical assisting from Commonwealth College.
Can You Eat Eggs on a Gluten-free, Casein-free Diet?
Eggs may be eaten on the GFCF diet. Photo Credit Tharakorn/iStock/Getty Images

The gluten-free, casein-free diet, or GFCF, is a special diet that requires careful planning and learning a new way to eat. A GFCF diet removes all sources of gluten or casein from the diet. The University of Virginia Health System suggests meeting with a qualified nutrition professional to learn what foods and additives to avoid for your special diet. Learning to follow the GFCF diet may be overwhelming until you’ve mastered what foods to eat and which to avoid. Eggs are a good source of protein and can be enjoyed by people on this diet.

Diet Basics

The gluten-free, casein-free diet is used by parents of children with autism. Benefits of the diet for autism are anecdotal; however, the Children’s Hospital of Minnesota notes that removing gluten and casein from the diet may help autism symptoms. People allergic or sensitive to gluten and casein proteins may also follow the GFCF diet.

You Might Also Like

Casein and Gluten

Casein and gluten are proteins. Gluten is found in wheat, barley and rye. Products made from these grains also contain gluten. Gluten has binding properties and may be found in seasonings and thickening agents used in commercially prepared foods. Casein is a protein found in milk and milk products. Gluten and casein may be difficult to avoid if you rely on commercially processed foods as a major part of your diet. Eggs do not contain gluten or casein, though some dishes that contain eggs may have both, depending on ingredients.

Foods to Avoid

When choosing egg dishes, it is important to be aware of all the ingredients if you are on a GFCF diet.

Foods made with gluten grains or milk must be avoided while on the GFCF diet. Commercially processed foods rely heavily on gluten-based flours. Common foods like bread, pasta, pizza crust, baked goods, crackers, some snacks and chips and packaged seasonings contain gluten. Food additives, like hydrolyzed vegetable protein and modified food starch, may also contain gluten.

Casein is a dairy-based protein. Products made from milk must be avoided, like ice cream, yogurt, butter and cheese. Products made from milk, like pudding, whipped cream and half and half also contain casein. Some food additives also contain casein, like whey, caseinate, and lactate.

Foods to Eat

Whole, natural foods, like eggs, that do not contain milk or gluten-grains, are safe to consume on the GFCF diet. Fresh fruits and vegetables are safe to eat on the GFCF diet. Grains like brown and wild rice, corn, millet, amaranth, quinoa and tapioca are safe choices, along with flours made from these grains. The website Talk About Curing Autism recommends choosing fresh, unprocessed, unseasoned meats like beef, pork and poultry. Processed meats like hot dogs and lunch meat may contain gluten or casein additives. Dairy substitutes are available to replace standard dairy. Milk made from almonds, hemp, potato, rice and coconut is safe for the GFCF diet.

Related Searches

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
THE LIVESTRONG.COM MyPlate Nutrition, Workouts & Tips
GOAL
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
GENDER
  • Female
  • Male
lbs.
ft. in.

References

Demand Media