Gold Member Badge


  • You're all caught up!

Are Kidney Beans & Chickpeas Gluten-Free?

author image Paula Martinac
Paula Martinac holds a Master of Science in health and nutrition education from Hawthorn University, with an emphasis on healthy aging, cancer prevention, weight control and stress management. She is Board Certified in holistic nutrition and a Certified Food and Spirit Practitioner, and has written extensively on nutrition for various websites.
Are Kidney Beans & Chickpeas Gluten-Free?
Chickpeas on a wooden spoon.

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, rye, barley and related grains, such as spelt and farro. It may also be added to processed foods as a thickening agent. When you have celiac disease, your body reacts negatively to gluten, resulting in damage to your small intestine. This disease affects about 3 million people in the United States, but as many as 18 million additional people may have a nonceliac sensitivity to gluten, reports the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. When you need to eat a gluten-free diet, beans and bean flours are excellent choices to incorporate into your meals.

Video of the Day

Gluten-free Beans

All beans are naturally gluten-free. This includes kidney beans and chickpeas, as well as lentils, soy and peas. In fact, some gluten-free recipes for baked goods use chickpea flour – also called garbanzo bean flour or besan flour -- as a stand-in for regular wheat flour, with 7/8 cup of the bean flour replacing 1 cup of the wheat variety.

Gluten-free Cooking with Beans

Although beans themselves contain no gluten, watch out for dishes, particularly at restaurants, that may combine these legumes with gluten-containing ingredients. Chickpea burgers, for example, may be held together with bread crumbs and would not be gluten-free. In addition, some processed foods, such as soy sauce, broth and salad dressing, have gluten, so mixing them with beans could produce a reaction in people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. Read ingredient lists carefully before using gluten-containing food products in your bean dishes.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
Lose Weight. Feel Great! Change your life with MyPlate by LIVESTRONG.COM
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
  • Female
  • Male
ft. in.


Demand Media