What Type of Foods Do Not Contain Yeast?

You might be surprised to learn that a number of foods contain yeast. If you're allergic to yeast, it's important to know which foods do not contain yeast. Some people also try a yeast-free diet in an attempt to cure a yeast infection, but the jury is out on whether this is effective, according to the University of Maryland Medical Center.

Yeast cubes on a plate next in front of a rolling pin. (Image: DENIO RIGACCI/iStock/Getty Images)

Meat, Poultry and Chicken

Usually, protein sources, such as meat, fish and poultry, don't contain yeast. Avoid processed or breaded meats, however, as the fillers or breading used in making these products may contain yeast. When you're on a yeast-free diet, it's fine to eat nuts and legumes, however.

Grains and Starches

Many baked goods, such as bread, pretzels, crackers, pizza crusts and bagels, contain yeast to help them rise. To avoid yeast in baked goods, choose unleavened products, which do not contain yeast. Check the ingredient list to find baked goods made with baking powder or baking soda instead of yeast -- or simply avoid baked goods altogether. Plain whole grains such as brown rice, quinoa, popcorn and rolled oats, aren't likely to contain yeast, so prepare these as a side dish instead of bread or rolls.

Fruits and Vegetables

Fresh vegetables don't contain yeast, but fermented or pickled vegetables are often made by using lactobacillus combined with yeast. These foods include sauerkraut, pickles, kim chi, miso and tempeh. In general, fruits don't contain yeast, as long as they are fresh and are not starting to spoil. Some fruits, such as berries, citrus fruits and grapes, are likely to be contaminated with yeast or mold, notes a study published in the "International Journal of Food Microbiology."

Dairy Products

Milk doesn't contain yeast, but some other dairy products are made by fermentation, which means that they may contain yeast. If you're trying to avoid yeast, don't eat yogurt, kefir, buttermilk or cheese. Butter, cream and ice cream, however, are not likely to contain yeast.

Other Foods

Soy sauce and anything with vinegar may contain traces of yeast, which means you should avoid condiments such as mayonnaise, relish, olives, mustard and barbeque sauce. Many alcoholic beverages contain yeast, including wine and beer. You can use lemon juice, herbs and spices as alternative flavoring agents for your food.

REFERENCES & RESOURCES
Load comments
PARTNER & LICENSEE OF THE LIVESTRONG FOUNDATION

Copyright © 2019 Leaf Group Ltd. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the LIVESTRONG.COM Terms of Use , Privacy Policy and Copyright Policy . The material appearing on LIVESTRONG.COM is for educational use only. It should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. LIVESTRONG is a registered trademark of the LIVESTRONG Foundation. The LIVESTRONG Foundation and LIVESTRONG.COM do not endorse any of the products or services that are advertised on the web site. Moreover, we do not select every advertiser or advertisement that appears on the web site-many of the advertisements are served by third party advertising companies.