Gold Member Badge


  • You're all caught up!

Is Calcium Lactate Considered Dairy?

author image Joelle DiTucci
Based in Berkeley, Calif., Registered Dietitian Joelle DiTucci received her Master's degree in nutrition, and enjoys her work as an eating disorder dietitian, support group leader, writer and a Rise coach. Her main interests are in recipe creation, disordered eating, psychology and intuitive eating.
Is Calcium Lactate Considered Dairy?
Calcium may interfere with absorption of other medications. Photo Credit: chorboon_photo/iStock/Getty Images

If you follow a vegan diet or have lactose intolerance, you need to avoid dairy products and foods containing them. Because "lactose" is also known as milk sugar, it is easy to confuse lactate as a dairy component as well. While dairy products are often rich in calcium, calcium lactate is, in fact, not a dairy product itself.

Video of the Day

Dairy Versus Calcium Lactate

Calcium lactate is a calcium salt taken to supplement the diet, either to treat a deficiency or to provide additional calcium for pregnant or breast-feeding women, if recommended by their doctor. It is also used to manage conditions like osteoporosis, osteomalacia, rickets or malabsorption syndrome. You need adequate calcium to form and maintain strong bones. Therefore, if you are concerned about your calcium intake, having to avoid dairy is no reason to avoid calcium lactate. If should not be taken without checking with your doctor, however, as calcium lactate is not recommended for people with certain medical conditions.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
Lose Weight. Feel Great! Change your life with MyPlate by LIVESTRONG.COM
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
  • Female
  • Male
ft. in.



Demand Media