You have to skip the grains if you are going gluten-free.
Amaranth, quinoa, millet, rice and teff are all gluten-free grains, perfect to consume on a gluten-free diet. When avoiding gluten, the biggest section to skip are all of the names for wheat, such as semolina, malt, bulgur, couscous, faro, matzo meal, panko, udon or durum. Rye and barley also contain gluten and need to be avoided.
Going gluten-free is all about knowing what to select along with all of the options out there for you to enjoy. Jeanne Hendricks, RD, recommends “utilizing the whole grains themselves and letting go of looking to gluten-free products to get a better nutrient profile overall.”