Gold Member Badge


  • You're all caught up!

Classification of Food Groups

author image Dakota Karratti
Dakota Karratti has been writing fitness and health articles since 2010. Her work has appeared in the "Salisbury University Flyer" and "WomanScope NewsMagazine." Karratti has been a Certified Nursing Assistant in Delaware since 2008. She is currently enrolled in The University of Alabama's Nutrition and Food Science BS program.
Classification of Food Groups
Healthy diets include vegetables, fruits, grains, dairy and protein. Photo Credit: Daniel Hurst/iStock/Getty Images

If you want to eat a healthy diet, you'll need to understand the five food groups. The five food groups are vegetables, fruits, grains, dairy and protein. A healthy, balanced diet will include food from each group.

Video of the Day

Fruits and Vegetables

Assortment of fruits and vegetables
Assortment of fruits and vegetables Photo Credit: Purestock/Purestock/Getty Images

The vegetable food group includes dark green vegetables, starchy vegetables, red and orange vegetables, beans and peas. Broccoli, corn, carrots, black beans and artichokes are all members of the vegetable group. Fresh fruit and 100 percent fruit juice are members of the fruit food group, which includes berries, melons and fruit cocktail. The U.S. Department of Agriculture says that half of every meal should be made from fruits and vegetables.

Dairy Products

Dairy food display
Dairy food display Photo Credit: Daniel Hurst/iStock/Getty Images

Milk and some foods made from milk make up the dairy food group. Cheese, soy milk, animal milk and yogurt are members of this group. Some foods that are made from milk are not in the dairy group, such as cream, cream cheese and butter. The USDA recommends choosing low-fat or nonfat dairy foods.

Grains and Protein

Steak with rice and herbs
Steak with rice and herbs Photo Credit: alivemindphotography/iStock/Getty Images

Grains are classified as any food made from wheat, rice, oats, cornmeal, barley or other cereal grains. The USDA recommends eating at least half of your grain intake from whole grains, such as in whole wheat bread. Protein foods include anything made from meat poultry, seafood, beans and peas, eggs, processed soy products, nuts and seeds. The USDA recommends choosing the leaner cuts of beef and poultry when eating these protein sources.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
Lose Weight. Feel Great! Change your life with MyPlate by LIVESTRONG.COM
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
  • Female
  • Male
ft. in.


Demand Media