Six Classes of Foods

Most people are familiar with the five food groups: fruits, vegetables, grains, protein and dairy. Another way to categorize food is by the type of nutrient it contains and its role in the body. A nutrient is a compound your body needs for energy, growth, basic physiological processes and overall health. Many foods can be placed in several classes. An apple, for instance, is a carbohydrate and a rich source of vitamins, minerals and water.

Fruits and vegetables for sale at a market. (Image: Rrrainbow/iStock/Getty Images)

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

The first three classes of nutrients are called macronutrients because your body needs them in significant amounts. Macronutrients include carbohydrates, protein and fat. Carbohydrates are divided into two categories: Simple carbohydrates metabolize quickly, offering your body fast but short-lived energy. Complex carbohydrates digest slowly and provide a steady supply of energy. White rice and pasta are examples of simple carbohydrates. Whole-grain bread, steel-cut oats and lentils are complex carbohydrates.

The Skinny on Fat

Fat is a macronutrient much-maligned by the diet industry, but your body needs some fat for energy and cell structure and integrity. Fats are divided into categories based on their physical characteristics. Saturated fats are solid at room temperature and include foods such as butter, cheese and the white marbling in steak. Unsaturated fats are liquid at room temperature and include foods such as olive and walnut oil. Replace saturated fats with unsaturated fats as much as possible for good health.

Beans, Beans Are Good for the Muscles

Protein plays an essential role in repairing damaged tissue and building new tissue throughout the body. It also acts as a tertiary source of energy. You don't need a protein shake to benefit from this food class. Many foods like dairy products, meat, beans, poultry, nuts and fish are naturally rich in protein.

Seeing in the Dark

A micronutrient is a compound your body only needs in small quantities and does not provide energy in the form of calories. Vitamins are organic, or carbon-containing, and essential micronutrients, which means the body cannot make them. There are 13 essential vitamins including vitamin A which aids with vision and vitamin C which promotes wound healing. The other important nutrients are the B vitamin group and vitamins E, D and K. Fruits and vegetables are particularly rich sources of vitamins.

Building Strong Bones

Minerals are inorganic micronutrients, which means they do not contain carbon. There are 16 minerals that your body needs to function, including calcium and iron. Iron is part of red blood cells and ensures that oxygen is delivered to all the cells in your body. Calcium keeps your bones and teeth strong and healthy. Electrolyte minerals, including sodium and potassium, help maintain fluid balance in your body. Minerals are found in an array of foods including dairy, meat, fruits and vegetables.

Drinking and Eating Water

It may seem strange to include water as a food class, but water acts as an essential solvent for chemicals in the cells, rids the body of waste and helps regulate body temperature. Drinking water is important, but you also get lots of water from fresh food.

Load comments

Copyright © 2019 Leaf Group Ltd. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the LIVESTRONG.COM Terms of Use , Privacy Policy and Copyright Policy . The material appearing on LIVESTRONG.COM is for educational use only. It should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. LIVESTRONG is a registered trademark of the LIVESTRONG Foundation. The LIVESTRONG Foundation and LIVESTRONG.COM do not endorse any of the products or services that are advertised on the web site. Moreover, we do not select every advertiser or advertisement that appears on the web site-many of the advertisements are served by third party advertising companies.