The Short and Sweet List of Gluten-Free Items at Dunkin' Donuts

Faced with shelves of glazed, powdered and strawberry-frosted doughnuts (let's not forget the Munchkins), the endless choices at Dunkin' Donuts can leave you and your sweet tooth stumped. But while plenty of people may "run on Dunkin'," those with celiac disease or a non-celiac gluten sensitivity will have any easier time making a selection.

If you're gluten-free, be cautious before digging in at Dunkin'. (Image: Westend61/Westend61/GettyImages)

That's because anyone avoiding gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, has limited choices at the chain. Although the doughnut franchise does offer a handful of gluten-free beverages and foods, you'll need to notify your server and make sure your beverage or breakfast is safe before you dig in.

Cross Contamination at Dunkin' Donuts

With all those gluten-filled doughnuts and bagels around, Dunkin' locations don't provide devoted gluten-free kitchens. That means any food you order at the chain can be at risk of cross contamination, according to the Gluten Intolerance Group. Cross contamination occurs when gluten-free and gluten-containing foods come in contact or are prepared on the same surface or using the same utensils.

Cross contamination can also occur through airborne gluten, according to the Gluten Intolerance Group. In restaurants or bakeries where wheat flour is used, particles can enter the air and settle on surfaces or foods, contaminating them with gluten, according to the National Celiac Association. This may pose a threat at Dunkin' restaurants where doughnuts are prepared on-site. Even if you're ordering one of the gluten-free food options below, you may want to verify that the location does not prepare its own treats from scratch.

Warning

While Dunkin' Donuts offers some foods and drinks made without any gluten-containing ingredients, all products may face cross contamination either through direct contact or airborne gluten during the preparation process. "As such, any customer with an allergy should inform the server before placing an order," Erika Brooks, RD, LDN, senior manager of regulatory compliance and nutrition at Dunkin' Brands, tells LIVESTRONG.com.

Gluten-Free Drinks at Dunkin' Donuts

Dunkin' Donuts offers a variety of coffee, tea and flavorings formulated without gluten. And, if you like to personalize your coffee with sweeteners or cream, the Dunkin' Donuts site offers an interactive menu that allows you to customize your drink online and review any potential allergens, including wheat. However, the site does not list gluten as an allergen, which means some drinks may contain barley or rye, which also contain the protein.

If you want to play it safe, try one of the beverages listed below, which Brooks specifies as being free of gluten ingredients. These beverages may still face cross contamination, so notify your server of your intolerance or sensitivity before you sip.

Gluten-Free Coffee

  • Hot coffee (original, dark, decaf)
  • Americano
  • Latte
  • Machiatto
  • Cappuccino
  • Espresso
  • Cold-brew coffee
  • Iced coffee
  • Iced latte
  • Iced macchiato
  • Hot chocolate

Gluten-Free Tea

  • Iced black tea
  • Iced green tea
  • Iced sweet tea
  • Fruit iced tea
  • Vanilla chai tea
  • Bold Breakfast tea
  • Chamomile Fields tea
  • Harmony Leaf tea
  • Cool Mint tea
  • Hibiscus Kiss tea
  • Decaf Breakfast tea

Gluten-Free Coolatta and Frozen Drinks

  • Vanilla Bean Coolatta
  • Blue Raspberry Coolatta
  • Strawberry Coolatta
  • Frozen vanilla chai
  • Frozen Dunkaccino
  • Frozen chocolate
  • Frozen coffee

Gluten-Free Flavor Swirls and Flavor Shots

  • Caramel Swirl
  • French Vanilla Swirl
  • Hazelnut Swirl
  • Mocha Swirl
  • Pumpkin Swirl
  • French Vanilla Flavor Shot
  • Hazelnut Flavor Shot
  • Caramel Flavor Shot
  • Toasted Almond Flavor Shot
  • Blueberry Flavor Shot
  • Raspberry Flavor Shot
  • Coconut Flavor Shot
  • Pumpkin Flavor Shot

Gluten-Free Food at Dunkin' Donuts

Given the nature of the company (doughnuts and bagels aren't generally gluten-free), it's no surprise that Dunkin' doesn't offer too many gluten-free food options. While you probably won't find any gluten-free doughnuts or bagels at your local Dunkin', the options below are free of gluten ingredients. Nevertheless, cross contamination during preparation is a risk to consider, so order with caution.

Dunkin' Donuts Hash Browns

A popular menu item, the restaurant's hash browns do not contain any gluten and can be ordered at all locations, according to the company site. The snack packs 140 calories per six-piece serving, and it's free of eggs, fish, milk, peanuts, shellfish, soy, tree nuts and wheat.

Dunkin' Donuts Burrito Breakfast Bowl

In August 2019, Dunkin' Donuts came out with two egg-based burrito breakfast bowls, which are available at participating locations, according to the Dunkin' site. Both the Fire Roasted Veggie Bowl and Chorizo Bowl are made without gluten and are high in protein.

REFERENCES & RESOURCES
Load Comments
PARTNER & LICENSEE OF THE LIVESTRONG FOUNDATION

Copyright © 2019 Leaf Group Ltd. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the LIVESTRONG.COM Terms of Use , Privacy Policy and Copyright Policy . The material appearing on LIVESTRONG.COM is for educational use only. It should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. LIVESTRONG is a registered trademark of the LIVESTRONG Foundation. The LIVESTRONG Foundation and LIVESTRONG.COM do not endorse any of the products or services that are advertised on the web site. Moreover, we do not select every advertiser or advertisement that appears on the web site-many of the advertisements are served by third party advertising companies.