Like peanut butter and jelly, ice cream and cones are pretty much inseparable. But if you're following a gluten-free diet, you may need to think twice before ordering that waffle cone at your favorite ice cream shop.
Video of the Day
While the cones at the parlor aren't always GF, there are plenty of gluten-free cones to choose from online or at the grocery store.
Serve it with your favorite gluten-free ice cream flavor and enjoy this treat all summer long.
Why Many Ice Cream Cones Aren't Gluten-Free
Most ice cream cones are made of flour, which is made from wheat. Wheat is one of the primary gluten-based grains, alongside rye and barley, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation.
When you're buying ice cream at a parlor, there's also a risk of cross-contamination, which occurs when gluten-free foods come in contact with gluten ingredients, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation.
Cross-contact can happen when an employee touches multiple ingredients without disinfecting their hands, for instance. Employees can also re-use scoopers or spoons for different ice cream flavors.
So even if you order a gluten-free ice cream flavor and a gluten-free ice cream cone, your dessert may still come in contact with gluten before your first lick.
How to Find Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones
If you're set on buying ice cream at a parlor, you'll want to verify that the shop's ice cream and cones are both gluten-free.
First, check online and confirm with the server once you arrive. Politely ask that they change their gloves and use fresh utensils while handling your order.
No matter how many precautions you take, mistakes happen. So even if your server takes extreme care, cross-contact is always a risk when you buy ice cream from a shop that's not fully gluten-free.
If you want to enjoy your sweet treat without concern, buying your own cones is a smart move. There are plenty of gluten-free ice cream cone options out there that'll give you some peace of mind.
Before you buy just any brand, protect yourself from potential cross-contamination by checking the packaging and reading the nutrition label on the foods you buy.
First, check the ingredient label and allergen listing for any wheat, rye or barley-based foods. Then, look for a "Gluten-Free" label on the product.
This mark is monitored by the Food & Drug Administration and confirms that the food you're eating is less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which is generally safe for even gluten-intolerant or gluten-sensitive people to eat.
If you want even more security, buy foods that are Certified Gluten-Free by trusted third party such as the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO). The GFCO only certifies foods that are 10 ppm of gluten or less, according to the organization's website.
Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cone Brands
Now that you're well-versed on the challenges in finding gluten-free ice cream cones in the parlor, consider these options from trusted brands.
1. Joy Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cups
Buy it: Amazon.com; Price: $6.89
2. Let's Do Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones
Buy it: Amazon.com; Price: $7.00
3. Joy Gluten-Free Sugar Cones
But it: Amazon.com; Price: $12.97
4. Goldbaum's Gluten-Free Sugar Cones
Buy it: Target.com; Price: $2.99
5. Barkat Gluten-Free Waffle Cones
Buy it: Amazon.com; Price: $11.26