Gold Member Badge


  • You're all caught up!

Ranking System of Krav Maga

author image Vanessa Arellano Doctor
Vanessa Arellano Doctor has more than 10 years of professional writing experience, specializing in business and finance, health and fitness and general interest subjects. She has been published in the "Financial Times," "European Banking News Network," "Entrepreneur," and WealthBriefing Asia.
Ranking System of Krav Maga
Colored martial arts belts. Photo Credit: Shaun Wilkinson/iStock/Getty Images

Krav Maga is a popular method of self-defense that can be used by both military combatants and average civilians. The ranking system that indicates the current level and expertise of a fighter is marked by belt color.

Video of the Day

Five Practitioner Levels

KM level 1 is the yellow belt curriculum, or the first phase for beginners. The yellow belt test comes after four months of training. An orange belt test is done after six months, a green belt after nine and a blue belt nine months after that. After one year of training and testing, the student can be up for a brown belt. Members progress through the ranking system at different paces. The black belt and higher levels are only available by invitation after the student has held a brown belt for at least one full year.

Graduate Levels

The majority of Krav Maga instructors are in the "G" level. The Fighter and Warrior diplomas within the G1 to G5 levels are for people working in law enforcement, security and the military, according to Krav Maga Global.

Expert and Master Levels

The expert levels focus on advanced military techniques and third party protection principles. Many in the expert levels are instructors in military and law enforcement. Those who reach the final stages only do so upon invitation, according to the Krav Maga Federation.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
Lose Weight. Feel Great! Change your life with MyPlate by LIVESTRONG.COM
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
  • Female
  • Male
ft. in.


Demand Media