Unflavored Gelatin Nutrition

Lemon jello
A close-up of lemon and lime candy containing gelatin. (Image: BetulOzenc/iStock/Getty Images)

Gelatin is normally made from animal collagen found in skin, bones and hooves. Vegetarian gelatin is made from seaweed, and is sold in a powdered form called agar. Gelatin is used to make products like yogurt, salad dressing and candy. Drug manufacturers use gelatin to make drug capsules, and synchronized swimmers use it to keep their hair in place during their routines. You can buy unflavored gelatin, in powdered form, at the grocery store to use in recipes.

Animal Gelatin

A one-ounce serving of unflavored gelatin has 30 calories and seven grams of protein. Gelatin is mainly composed of collagen and water, and the calories come from the collagen. Gelatin has no fat, cholesterol or sodium. It does not have carbohydrates, vitamins or minerals either.

Vegetable Gelatin/Agar

Half a tablespoon of agar powder has 14 calories and zero grams of protein. Unlike the animal-based gelatin, agar actually has 4 grams of carbohydrate. Agar also has 5 mg of sodium and 70 mg of potassium. Agar contains 3 percent of the daily value of calcium, 6 percent iron and 9 percent magnesium, as well as 7 percent folate.

Possible Medicinal Value

Some drug manufacturers market gelatin-based formulas for joint strength and repair. These manufacturers usually combine the gelatin with other joint remedies, like shark cartilage and chondroitin. There are also those who advocate using gelatin to treat arthritis, although there is no scientific evidence supporting this use.

Cooking Applications

While gelatin does not have much nutritional value, it is valuable as a cooking ingredient. Cooks use gelatin in everything from confectionery to meat products. Gelatin acts as a whipping agent in marshmallows and souffles, a binding agent for some meat products, and a thickener in gravies and sauces. It is also used as an emulsifier in cream-based products and a clarifying agent in wine and beer.

Considerations

If you are considering adding gelatin to your diet, review the overall nutritional value of the product. While animal-based gelatin has more protein, vegetarian gelatin has more vitamins and minerals.

REFERENCES & RESOURCES
Comments
PARTNER & LICENSEE OF THE LIVESTRONG FOUNDATION

Copyright © 2018 Leaf Group Ltd. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the LIVESTRONG.COM Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Copyright Policy. The material appearing on LIVESTRONG.COM is for educational use only. It should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. LIVESTRONG is a registered trademark of the LIVESTRONG Foundation. The LIVESTRONG Foundation and LIVESTRONG.COM do not endorse any of the products or services that are advertised on the web site. Moreover, we do not select every advertiser or advertisement that appears on the web site-many of the advertisements are served by third party advertising companies.