Xanthan gum is a powder that is commonly utilized as a coagulant in gluten-free baking. It is mostly recommended by physicians and dietitians for patients who are allergic to wheat or dairy foods; it is also recommended for individuals with Celiac disease (allergies to gluten). Aside from adding volume to baked foods, xanthan gum can also be used to thicken salad dressing or gravies. There are easy ways to find and purchase it.
Go to a large supermarket in your area and look for xanthan gum in the gluten-free aisle. Most large supermarket chains will carry it. If you can’t find it there, look for it in the baking aisle. If they don’t carry it, ask customer service if they can order it for you and contact you when it is ready to pick up.
Visit your nearest health food store. Health food stores such as Whole Foods Market and Trader Joe’s often carry xanthan gum. They might also have other gluten-free alternatives. If these stores don’t carry it, they may carry guar gum instead, which is very similar to xanthan gum. It is free of gluten and can be utilized as a natural food thickener as well.
Contact a Seventh-day Adventist Church in your area. The Adventist church promotes a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet for its members. They often also have their own health food stores near their churches, and most of these Adventist-owned health stores will have xanthan gum in stock. Call and speak to someone in the church and ask if they can help you locate a store that carries it.
Visit a local East Indian grocery store. Since xanthan gum is used in many gluten-free Indian pastry recipes, you should have no problem finding it there. But note: They will usually carry xanthan gum that is made in India, and since it's imported, it might be a little expensive.
Order xanthan gum directly online. There are many websites that sell it, including Amazon.com, House of Nutrition and iHerb.com. Get a good deal by comparing prices before you buy.