When living gluten-free, you may neglect some of the healthier aspects of your diet. For example, because you can't eat most whole grains, you may not get enough fiber. You can find gluten-free fiber supplements to help you meet your fiber needs. Always consult your physician before adding a fiber supplement to your gluten-free diet.
Video of the Day
About Gluten-Free Foods
Gluten-free describes a product that does not contain the protein gluten. This protein is responsible for adding elasticity to bread products, preventing them from crumbling and falling apart. Gluten is in wheat, rye, and barley. Those who are gluten sensitive or have celiac disease must also avoid oats that are not labeled gluten-free.
Konsyl Fiber Supplements
Konsyl fiber is advertised as being gluten-free and safe for those with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. Made from psyllium husk, this supplement contains no additives and no added sugar. Additionally, Konsyl is free of all artificial sweeteners and comes in powdered flavors such as orange, original flavor and in capsule form.
Metamucil claims its products are gluten-free. The exception is the Metamucil wafers, which contain wheat flour and are not gluten free. This fiber brand comes in both powdered and capsule varieties, as well as several flavors, such as lemonade, orange or mixed-berry.
Along with being recognized as gluten-free, this supplement is suitable for vegetarians. UniFiber is also an all-natural product, and contains no genetically modified ingredients. Made from plant cellulose, this supplement is available in a powdered version you mix with fruit, milk or juice. UniFiber is also tasteless when mixed with liquid.