Gold Member Badge


  • You're all caught up!

Gluten Free Snack Foods

author image Michelle Kulas
Michelle Kulas worked in the health-care field for 10 years, serving as a certified nurses' assistant, dental assistant and dental insurance billing coordinator. Her areas of expertise include health and dental topics, parenting, nutrition, homeschooling and travel.
Gluten Free Snack Foods
Check to make sure your snack foods are gluten-free.

People with celiac disease must avoid gluten, which is the protein of wheat, rye, barley and some other grains. Gluten is found in many traditional snack foods, including some brands of crackers, chips, candy and baked goods. Avoid contaminating foods with products that might contain gluten; even small amount of a gluten-containing food can cause illness in the person with celiac disease.

Video of the Day

Dairy Snack Foods

Swiss cheese on cutting board
Swiss cheese on cutting board Photo Credit: mg7/iStock/Getty Images

While milk is gluten-free, some dairy products may contain fillers or other ingredients that have gluten in them. Always read labels carefully before eating or serving. According to Celiac Central, some types of dairy products are known to be gluten-free. Chocolate, vanilla and chocolate chip ice cream by Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry's, Blue Bell and Dairy Queen are all gluten-free. Feel free to check for ice cream additives like cookies or pieces of cake. Jello and Del Monte brand pudding cups do not contain gluten. Hard cheeses, such as cheddar, Parmesan, Swiss and Edam are safe, as are Sargento and Kraft cheese sticks, but processed cheeses may not be. Yogurt is often gluten-free, but some may contain suspect additives; check labels carefully.

Chips and Other Crunchy Snacks

Woman eating bowl of popcorn on sofa
Woman eating bowl of popcorn on sofa Photo Credit: Flying Colours Ltd/Digital Vision/Getty Images

Certain brands of chips and other crunchy snack foods are known to be gluten-free. Some of these include Lays STAXX, Doritos Rollitos and Ruffles Regular potato chips. Popcorn is gluten-free on its own, but some brands of microwave popcorn may contain gluten. Safe brands include Orville Redenbacher's, Jiffy Pop and Crunch N Munch. Act II popcorn is safe, except for the Extreme Butter brand, according to Celiac Central. The Celiac Sprue Association states that cornmeal-based chips and tortilla chips are gluten-free, as are vegetable chips and nut chips without gluten listed on the label.


Glass bowl filled with jelly beans
Glass bowl filled with jelly beans Photo Credit: Design Pics/Design Pics/Getty Images

Many candies are gluten-free, and those with celiac disease can enjoy them. Hershey's chocolate kisses, hugs, nuggets and bars that do not contain cookie pieces or crispies are safe. Other safe chocolate candies include M&Ms, Raisinets, Reese's peanut butter cups, 3 Musketeers, Baby Ruth, Snickers, Butterfingers, York Peppermint Patties and Dove chocolate. Chewy or fruity candies that are gluten-free include Jelly Belly jellybeans, Starburst, Skittles and Airheads. Safe gum brands include Trident, Wrigley's, Bubble Yum and Dentyne.

Fruits and Vegetables

Baskets of fruit at farmer's market
Baskets of fruit at farmer's market Photo Credit: Ingram Publishing/Ingram Publishing/Getty Images

Raw, fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten-free, and make healthy snacks. When using frozen or canned produce, it is important to check labels carefully; many contain emulsifiers, thickeners or sauces that contain gluten.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
Lose Weight. Feel Great! Change your life with MyPlate by LIVESTRONG.COM
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
  • Female
  • Male
ft. in.



Demand Media