Gold Member Badge


  • You're all caught up!

Can You Eat Sliced American Cheese on a Gluten-Free Diet?

author image Megan Ware
Megan Ware is a registered dietitian nutritionist who runs her own weight loss and healthy-living practice in Dallas. She has previously worked as a hospital clinical dietitian specializing in gastrointestinal disorders and also has experience working as the lead dietitian and group fitness instructor for a popular weight loss resort. Ware holds a Bachelor of Science in dietetics from The Ohio State University, where she graduated cum laude.
Can You Eat Sliced American Cheese on a Gluten-Free Diet?
Label reading is an essential skill for those needing to avoiding gluten. Photo Credit: Creatas Images/Creatas/Getty Images

Gluten is a protein found in certain grains like wheat, barely and rye. People with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity have to be careful to avoid all gluten in foods, especially those with "hidden" gluten. It is easy to find foods containing wheat by reading ingredients labels; however, many additives in processed foods may contain gluten from sources other than wheat.

Video of the Day

Gluten in Cheese

Natural aged cheeses made from real milk are usually gluten-free; however, some processed cheeses may contain gluten. American cheese is generally gluten-free, according to the Jackson Siegelbaum Gastroenterology website. Still, you should always check the ingredients label of the particular cheese you are purchasing. Avoid cheeses with vegetable gum or food starch, which are likely to contain gluten. Also, check the label for preservatives that are not defined as a gluten-free sources. If you are unsure whether a product contains gluten, check the manufacturer's website for additional information.

LiveStrong Calorie Tracker
Lose Weight. Feel Great! Change your life with MyPlate by LIVESTRONG.COM
  • Gain 2 pounds per week
  • Gain 1.5 pounds per week
  • Gain 1 pound per week
  • Gain 0.5 pound per week
  • Maintain my current weight
  • Lose 0.5 pound per week
  • Lose 1 pound per week
  • Lose 1.5 pounds per week
  • Lose 2 pounds per week
  • Female
  • Male
ft. in.


Demand Media