List of Gluten & Casein Free Foods

...

Gluten and casein are proteins that either add depth and flavor to your food or cause notorious discomfort to your body. The difference stems from your ability to digest both proteins. Gluten is found in wheat, rye and barley, while derivatives include malt, soy sauce and grain vinegar. If you have celiac disease, an inherited autoimmune disease, you simply can't eat foods containing gluten or gluten derivatives. When you do, you will experience an unfavorable immune system reaction and discomfort. Casein is named from the Latin word for cheese "caseus". It has a very similar molecular structure to gluten and causes the same discomfort but is found predominantly in dairy products. Casein can be listed as sodium caseinate, calcium caseinate, or milk protein, and it is not exclusive to dairy. It can regularly be found in other items including baked products, pasta, and sports drinks.

Eggs

Eggs do not contain gluten or casein. When you prepare your eggs be mindful of which oils you use. Omelets are a way to pack flavor, nutrition and a full-stomach all in one.

Meat

When you purchase meat you are best off purchasing it directly from your health store or butcher. Fresh meat, fresh poultry, and fresh seafood will be gluten and casein free. Be careful, though, with prepackaged meats, as they can contain added ingredients. Even though you can buy luncheon meat that is gluten- and casein-free, you cannot always ensure that the machine used at the delicatessen has been wiped down and cleaned. Tofu is a substitute for meat and can be prepared with natural spices.

Fruits and Vegetables

Fresh vegetables and fresh fruits do not contain gluten or casein. Include a grapefruit with breakfast, diced bananas, strawberries or whole grapes with lunch, and fresh asparagus, fresh potatoes or fresh artichokes with dinner. Include fresh chopped onions, fresh mushrooms, salt, and pepper with your omelet.

REFERENCES & RESOURCES
Load comments
PARTNER & LICENSEE OF THE LIVESTRONG FOUNDATION

Copyright © 2019 Leaf Group Ltd. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the LIVESTRONG.COM Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Copyright Policy. The material appearing on LIVESTRONG.COM is for educational use only. It should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. LIVESTRONG is a registered trademark of the LIVESTRONG Foundation. The LIVESTRONG Foundation and LIVESTRONG.COM do not endorse any of the products or services that are advertised on the web site. Moreover, we do not select every advertiser or advertisement that appears on the web site-many of the advertisements are served by third party advertising companies.