Does Whole-Wheat Pasta Contain Eggs?

Store shelves offer a greater variety of whole-wheat pastas than ever before. Whole-wheat pasta is high in fiber and protein, offering a filling and healthy base for all sorts of meals. Most whole-wheat pasta contains whole-wheat flour, water, vitamin and mineral supplements, and may or may not contain oil and semolina flour. Whole-wheat egg noodles contain whole-wheat flour and eggs. Many homemade whole-wheat noodle or pasta recipes do use eggs.

Whole wheat pasta, flour, eggs, tomatoes and basil on a cutting board.
Credit: amberto4ka/iStock/Getty Images

Homemade Whole-Wheat Pasta

Fresh pasta, including homemade fresh pasta, typically contains eggs. If you'd like to make your own whole-wheat pasta, you can combine 2 cups of flour, two eggs, a pinch of salt and water as needed to form a dough. You can also opt to use a combination of all-purpose and whole-wheat flour or experiment with pasta made from just whole-wheat flour, water and salt. Roll out pasta by hand or use a manual pasta machine.

Whole-Wheat Egg Noodles

Egg noodles are a favorite for casseroles and stroganoff, but aren't typically served on their own with red or cream sauces. These noodles do contain eggs, but can be made with whole eggs or just egg whites. The yolk-free version is lower in cholesterol, but has a similar flavor. You'll find that whole-wheat egg noodles have a nutty flavor, but a heavier texture than their white flour counterparts.

Whole-Wheat Pasta

Most purchased dry whole-wheat pastas do not contain eggs. You'll find that the majority of these pastas, including lasagna, spaghetti, fettucine and penne are vegan, and suitable for individuals with egg allergies. Choose one with a high percentage of whole wheat flour, if you enjoy the flavor of whole wheat pasta, or opt for a blend of wheat and white for a more classic pasta flavor.

Multi-Grain Pastas

If you're a fan of whole wheat pasta, you may also enjoy other whole grain or multi-grain pastas. Like whole wheat pasta, these are typically egg-free. Some varieties, like quinoa pasta, are also gluten-free and higher in protein than whole wheat. Check labels carefully when shopping for a multi-grain pasta, especially if you have food allergies.

references
Load Comments
PARTNER & LICENSEE OF THE LIVESTRONG FOUNDATION

Copyright © 2019 Leaf Group Ltd. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the LIVESTRONG.COM Terms of Use , Privacy Policy and Copyright Policy . The material appearing on LIVESTRONG.COM is for educational use only. It should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. LIVESTRONG is a registered trademark of the LIVESTRONG Foundation. The LIVESTRONG Foundation and LIVESTRONG.COM do not endorse any of the products or services that are advertised on the web site. Moreover, we do not select every advertiser or advertisement that appears on the web site-many of the advertisements are served by third party advertising companies.