Is Optimum Nutrition Protein Powder 100% Gold Standard Gluten-Free?

Optimum Nutrition is part of Glanbia, a cheese and nutritional manufacturer. It offers nutritional products in every category, including protein powders, nutrition bars and vitamin supplements, according to the Optimum Nutrition website. While many of these products are gluten-free, including most of the 100 Percent Gold Standard protein powder flavors, the manufacturing plant is not a gluten-free facility. If you require a gluten-free diet, use caution when considering the 100 Percent Gold Standard Protein powder from Optimum Nutrition.

A scoop of green protein powder. (Image: SKunevski/iStock/Getty Images)

Gluten

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye and any food products containing these ingredients. Most people can safely consume gluten without any problems. If you have a condition such as celiac disease or gluten-intolerance, however, you need to avoid foods containing gluten to prevent illness. When you consume foods containing gluten, your body will react by attacking and damaging your digestive system, causing malabsorption and malnutrition.

Avoiding Gluten

If you have to follow a gluten-free diet you need to avoid all foods containing wheat, barley and rye. This includes most breads, pasta, crackers and processed foods. Eating even a small amount of gluten is harmful to your digestive system and health. Reading food labels can help you identify foods you need to avoid. It is also important that you avoid foods that may have come in contact with gluten, causing cross-contamination. For example, a toaster used to toast regular wheat bread is considered contaminated with gluten, and a separate toaster should be used to toast your bread.

100 Percent Gold Standard Protein Powder

Optimum Nutrition's 100 Percent Whey Gold Standard is a protein powder containing mostly whey protein isolates. The protein powder is used as a dietary supplement to help build muscle. One rounded scoop of protein powder contains 120 calories, 1 gram of fat, 60 milligrams of sodium, 3 grams of carbohydrates and 24 grams of protein. The nutrition powder comes in a variety of flavors including Banana Cream, Caramel Toffee Fudge, Chocolate Malt, Chocolate Mint, Cookies and Cream, Double Rich Chocolate, French Vanilla Cream, Extreme Milk Chocolate, Mocha Cappucino, Rocky Road, Delicious Strawberry, Strawberry Banana, Vanilla Ice Cream and Tropical Punch.

Gluten and Protein Powder

Because the protein powder comes in a variety of different flavors, it is important that you check the label and ingredients of each mix to determine if it contains gluten. According to Optimum Nutrition, the only flavor of the protein powder that contains gluten is Cookies and Cream, all other flavors are gluten-free. Though the other protein powders do not have any added gluten, the company cannot 100 percent guarantee that they are gluten-free because the same equipment is used to make both the gluten-free and gluten-containing products.

REFERENCES & RESOURCES
Load comments
PARTNER & LICENSEE OF THE LIVESTRONG FOUNDATION

Copyright © 2019 Leaf Group Ltd. Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the LIVESTRONG.COM Terms of Use , Privacy Policy and Copyright Policy . The material appearing on LIVESTRONG.COM is for educational use only. It should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. LIVESTRONG is a registered trademark of the LIVESTRONG Foundation. The LIVESTRONG Foundation and LIVESTRONG.COM do not endorse any of the products or services that are advertised on the web site. Moreover, we do not select every advertiser or advertisement that appears on the web site-many of the advertisements are served by third party advertising companies.